
Did the Eagles fumble on tush push? This NFL rule impacted non-review
The Philadelphia Eagles converted a fourth down using their controversial ‘tush push’ play against the New York Giants.
Officials ruled quarterback Jalen Hurts’ forward progress was stopped, negating a fumble recovered by the Giants.
The ruling on the field was not reviewable, despite a challenge attempt by Giants coach Brian Daboll.
The Eagles scored a touchdown two plays after the controversial call.
It wouldn’t be a NFL Sunday without some “tush push” controversy involving the Philadelphia Eagles.
With the Eagles facing a 4th-and-1 early in the second quarter against the New York Giants, the Eagles lined up ready to execute the much-debated short-yardage play that they have both mastered and popularized – although the minor infractions that give Philadelphia an advantage have come under scrutiny this season, to the point officials have been instructed to call the play more stringently.
Philadelphia quarterback Jalen Hurts lunged forward and pushed the ball beyond the line of gain for a first down, but Giants linebacker Kayvon Thibodeaux snatched the pigskin from Hurt’s clutches. The side judge, however, had ruled that Hurts’ forward progress had been stopped – a dubious assertion in real time and even more questionable thanks to slow-motion replay.
Giants head coach Brian Daboll attempted to challenge the play, but calls involving forward progress are not eligible for further review.
FOX rules analyst Dean Blandino said “the key here is they ruled progress.”
The Eagles scored two plays later, with Saquon Barkley adding another touchdown against his former team (his second of the day), to make it 14-7.